Our team

Meet School Principal Livia Angiolillo 

 

Livia Angiolillo takes the helm as school director of Brooklyn Ascend High School this year. A co-founder of Uncommon Collegiate Charter High School (UCC), a high-performing high school with alumni who have graduated from four-year colleges at higher rates than students from the wealthiest American communities, Angiolillo brings to Ascend deep experience successfully developing an environment of academic and cultural achievement. In her role at UCC as co-leader and director of operations, she managed day-to-day operations and school culture initiatives, established the school’s service learning program, and participated in several network-level working groups. Prior to founding UCC, Angiolillo participated in three Uncommon fellowship programs, through which she managed numerous projects related to operations, facilities, school safety, and compliance; trained as an operations leader in existing Uncommon schools; and helped plan the launch of UCC with her co-leader. She previously held positions at Harlem RBI DREAM Charter School and the Legal Aid Society Education Advocacy Project. Angiolillo holds a bachelor’s in English and fine arts from Amherst College, a joint MA/M.Ed. in education organization and leadership from Columbia University’s Teachers College, and a JD from Columbia School of Law.

 

2578_190408_Ascend_Mindy_Best (1).jpg
Our leadership team

 

School Principal

Livia Angiolillo

livia.angiolillo@ascendlearning.org

Assistant Principal of Operations

Shela Kocher

shela.kocher@ascendlearning.org

Assistant Principal - Grades 9 & 12

Jahkia Sanders

jahkia.sanders@ascendlearning.org

Assistant Principal - Grades 10 & 11

Brandon Barnet

brandon.small@ascendlearning.org

 

Math Department Chair

Bailey Stewart

bailey.stewart@ascendlearning.org

Science Department Chair

Louvina Jackman

louvina.jackman@ascendlearning.org

History Department Chair

Katharine Goforth

katharine.goforth@ascendlearning.org

English Department Chair

Caitlin Unger

caitlin.unger@ascendlearning.org

 

College & Post Secondary Success Chair

Gizzel Edmund

gizzel.edmund@ascendlearning.org

Student Services Chair

Amanda Carter

amanda.carlson@ascendlearning.org


 

Academic Operations Manager

Erik Gonzalez

erik.gonzalez@ascendlearning.org

Operations Manager

Evelyn Jones-Catabois

evelyn.jonescatabois@ascendlearning.org

 

Counseling, Operations, Student Support, and Culture 

School Counselor 

Adrienne Haskell

adrienne.haskell@ascendlearning.org

School Counselor

Bryanne Richburg

bryanne.richburg@ascendlearning.org

School Counselor

Jennifer Gold

jennifer.gold@ascendlearning.org

Operations Associate

Nathalie Taveras

nathalie.taveras@ascendlearning.org

 

Faculty
English 

 

English I

Nailah Roberts

nailah.roberts@ascendlearning.org

English I

Emily Sullivan

emily.sullivan@ascendlearning.org

English II

Christina Nauta

christina.nauta@ascendlearning.org

 

 

English II

Michael Rustin

michael.rustin@ascendlearning.org

English III

Alexis Dennis

alexis.dennis@ascendlearning.org

 

English III

Anjali Rodrigues

anjali.rodrigues@ascendlearning.org

English IV

Melanie Jennings

melanie.jennings@ascendlearning.org

 

Global History II

Alicia Hamilton

alicia.hamilton@ascendlearning.org

US History, Government & Economics 

Rodney Burford

rodney.burford@ascendlearning.org

History

 

Global History I

Christina Berthaud

christina.berthaud@ascendlearning.org

Global History II

Annie Kean

annie.kean@ascendlearning.org

 

Government & Economics, AP Government

Stephen Gleason

stephen.gleason@ascendlearning.org

 

US History, AP US History 

Jennifer Goldstein

jennifer.goldstein@ascendlearning.org

Science

9th Grade Biology

Sophia Felder

sophia.felder@ascendlearning.org

9th Grade Biology

Madeline Crump

madeline.crump@ascendlearning.org

Chemistry

Amarjot Banga

amarjot.banga@ascendlearning.org

 

 

Chemistry

Jordan Eshelman

jordan.eshelman@ascendlearning.org

 

11th Grade Biology, Honors Bio, AP Bio

Melinda Bertram

melinda.bertram@ascendlearning.org

 

Senior Maker

Dan Shermele

dan.shermele@ascendlearning.org

Senior Maker

Andre Davis

andre.davis@ascendlearning.org

 

Algebra II

Deniece Patterson

deniece.patterson@ascendlearning.org

Algebra II

Keri Small

keri.small@ascendlearning.org

Mathematics

 

Algebra I

Don Gilbert

don.gilbert@ascendlearning.org

Geometry

Jeffrey Rodriguez

jeffrey.rodriguez@ascendlearning.org

Geometry

Katherine Duggan

katherine.duggan@ascendlearning.org

Pre Calculus

Guiomar Camano

guiomar.camano@ascendlearning.org

 

Pre Calculus, AP Calculus AB

Jordan Ziskin

jordan.ziskin@ascendlearning.org

 

Spanish II, Pre AP Spanish

Nikki Vargas 

nicaury.vargas@ascendlearning.org

Foreign Language

Spanish I

Lamar Shambley

lamar.shambley@ascendlearning.org

 

Physical Education

Michael Rustin

michael.rustin@ascendlearning.org

Writing 10

Han Rigg

hannah.rigg@ascendlearning.org

Specials 

Art 

Andre LeRoy Davis

andre.davis@ascendlearning.org

Writing 9

Jennyfer Gonzalez

jennyfer.gonzalez@ascendlearning.org

College Access & Success Counselor: Alumni Support

Jonathan Rosario

jonathan.rosario@ascendlearning.org

 

College Readiness

College Access & Success Counselor, College Seminar 12

Mariama Toffa

mariama.toffa@ascendlearning.org

 

College Seminar 11

Guiomar Camano

guiomar.camano@ascendlearning.org